Safety Alerts Saves Lives
Safety Alerts  
Home Privacy About Us Contact Us Change Preferences
spacer.gif (43 bytes)
November 26,  2001

Maryland State Delegate to Receive National 'Humanitarian of the Year' Award for Leadership in Fight Against Drunk Driving


 (SafetyAlerts) - WHAT: To kick off National Drunk & Drugged Driving Prevention Month, the National Commission Against Drunk Driving (NCADD) will hold a National Highway Safety Awards Luncheon to honor Maryland State Delegate Bill Bronrott (District 16, Bethesda) for his contributions to the fight against drunk driving. The NCADD ( ), the successor group to President Reagan's Commission on Drunk Driving appointed 20 years ago, is holding a National Town Hall Meeting on Drunk Driving on November 27-28 that will conclude with the national awards luncheon.

WHEN: Wednesday, November 28 at 12:15 p.m. (EST)

WHERE: Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center,
14th Street and Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Washington, D.C.
(Atrium Ballroom on the Concourse Level)

WHO: Maryland State Delegate Bill Bronrott (D-District 16) will receive the "Humanitarian of the Year" in honor of his leadership and contribution to the fight against drunk driving and underage drinking over the past 21 years, resulting in the passage of many lifesaving laws and public awareness campaigns.

The 11 other award recipients will be:

* NCADD Founders Award: Former U.S. Senator Bob Dole, one of the original members of President Reagan's Commission on Drunk Driving.

* Corporate Leadership Award: the Century Council (a D.C.-based coalition of distilled spirits companies)

* Government Leadership Award: Texas Governor Rick Perry

* State Award: State of Georgia

* Legislative Leadership: Louisiana State Senator Joel T. Chaisson, II (Destrehan, Louisiana)

* Youth Initiative Award: Kasey Folse, student advocate against underage drinking (Lake Charles, Louisiana)

* Law Enforcement Award: Los Angeles Police Department's Operation ABC (Alcohol Beverage Control), led by Detective III Rick McElroy, Unit Coordinator and Police Chief Bernard C. Parks.

* Media Awareness Award: Carolina Bernal, Univision 19, KUVS TV, Sacramento, California.

* Adjudication Award: Mary Ann Aguirre, Program Attorney, The National Judicial College's "Courage to Live" program (Reno, Nevada)

* Education and Prevention Award: Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety (St. Paul, Minnesota)

* Citizen Activist of the Year Award: The Easterbrook Family (Troy, MI)-- for their national educational efforts to combat drunk driving through The Foundation for Ashley's Dream.

The awards luncheon featured speaker will be Jeffrey Runge, M.D., Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

The National Commission Against Drunk Driving sponsors the Awards Luncheon in partnership with Farmers Insurance.

Source: PRNewswire.

Selected Recent Recalls

Health Professional:

Did you know?
During 2000 there were over
1050 products recalled in the United
States for safety reasons!

How many did you hear about?

Sign-up for SafetyAlerts by Email -
The free internet newsletter that could
some day literally save your life - or
the life of someone you know.


The information contained herein has been obtained from sources that the Company believes to be reliable, however, the Company has not independently verified or confirmed the information and the recipient acknowledges that no representations or warranties are being made in connection with the use of the information.