September 25, 2003
ALLERGY ALERT ON UNDECLARED EGGS,
DAIRY AND TREE NUTS IN CHESTNUT BREAD
Fay Da Manufacturing Corp., 192 Seigel Street, Brooklyn, NY 11206 is
recalling Chestnut Bread because it may contain undeclared eggs, dairy and
tree nuts. People who have allergies to eggs, dairy and tree nuts run the
risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reactions if they consume this
The recalled Chestnut Bread is packed in uncoded, plastic bags and was sold
in Fay Da Bakeries located in the New York Metropolitan area.
The recall was initiated after it was discovered through a routine
investigation by New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets Food
Inspectors that the product containing eggs, dairy and tree nuts was
distributed in packaging that did not reveal the presence of egg, dairy and
No illnesses have been reported to date in connection with this problem.
Consumers who have purchased Chestnut Bread are urged to return it to the
place of purchase. Consumers with questions may contact the company at